Utilizzando questo sito acconsenti all'utilizzo dei cookie.  Cookies Policy

VVJ 128 - Kevin Hays e Chiara Izzi - Across the sea (eng)

back to » english version

VVJ 128 - Kevin Hays e Chiara Izzi - Across the sea (eng)

(0 Voti)

Kevin Hays e Chiara Izzi 
Across the sea  Play


Kevin Hays - voce, piano, fender rhodes

Chiara Izzi - voce

Rob Jost - basso e corno inglese

Greg Joseph - batteria  

Omer Avital - oud

Grégoire Maret - armonica

Nir Felder - chitarra

Chris Potter - sax

Rogério Boccato - percussioni


VVJ 128 - Prodotto da Via Veneto Jazz e Jando Music

 Logo Via Veneto Jazz  Logo Jandomusic



Press release

This album is the outcome of an encounter of two musicians so distant and yet so inexorably close. A project where the music is always tangible, not volatile, particularly when born under a bright inspirational sky. Those holding the reins of this visionary journey between jazz and pop, America and Italy, dream and lyricism are, without doubt, the two artists: Chiara, with her warm, mediterranean voice and Kevin, one of the most celebrated and admired pianists and composers on the american jazz scene which can boast pop music distinguished collaborations (James Taylor).

Across the Sea is recorded at the legendary Sear Sound in New York; the   outcome of diligent project work, with the collaboration of several guests such as Omer Avital, Gregoire Maret, Nir Felder, Chris Potter and Rogério Boccato that simply amplify the awareness that this shared journey, so rich and adventurous, began under the best auspices. 

The compelling predominance of melody, the osmosis between vocals and keyboards and the amazing confluence of their singing voices, have sublimated the tasks related to production into subtle finishing touches of a chisel, aromas, invitations and "further" sounds magically converging into the final work. The French horn in the emblematic Two for the Road, the ancestral oud in the classic Miles Davis’ Nardis, the punctual and decisive harmonica in Pat Metheny’s James, the caressing guitar in Circles of the Mind, the sinuous saxophone in Viaggio Elegiaco, are just a few examples.

The world premiere of Across the Sea will take place on February 28, 2019 in a jazz temple: the Birdland of New York City



Tracklist of "Across the sea": 10 Tracks

01. Circles Of The Mind (Chiara Izzi)
02. I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face
(Frederick Loewe - Alan Jay Lerner)
03. James
(Pat Metheny - Kevin Hays)
04. Secret O’ LifE
(James Taylor)
05. Two For The Road
(Henry Mancini - Leslie Bricusse)
06. Across The Sea (Chiara Izzi)
07. Viaggio Elegiaco
(Kevin Hays - Chiara Izzi)
08. Verso Il Mare
(Rosario Bonaccorso - Chiara Izzi)
09. Tierna Nardis
(Miles Davis - Yanina Lombardi)
10. With You I’m Born Again
(David Shire - Carol Connor)

share this item
facebook googleplus linkedin rss twitter youtube