Utilizzando questo sito acconsenti all'utilizzo dei cookie.  Cookies Policy

VVJ 099 - Funk Off - Things Change (eng)

back to » english version

VVJ 099 - Funk Off - Things Change (eng)

(0 Voti)

Funk Off 
Things Change  Play

Raul Midón
Fred Wesley


VVJ 099 - Prodotto da Via Veneto Jazz e Jando Music

 Logo Via Veneto Jazz  Logo Jandomusic


Press release

After 17 years of work, performances, recordings, concerts, and life experiences shared together, Funk Off finally release their sixth album "Things Change" (slated for release by Jando Music/Via Veneto Jazz in May 2015). Things have indeed changed and continue to do so, in fact, the band has been taking on more black music, capturing the essence of soul music. For the first time Funk Off hosts two special guest singers and co-authors, namely Avery*Sunshine, the rising star of American black music in the track Dance With Me and Raul Midòn, internationally-renowned singer, song-writer and guitarist, with Deja Vu; two tracks where all the passion, emotion and power of Funk Off’s soul cuts through. To emphasize this creative streak, the sole guest instrument on this album is played by the legendary Fred Wesley, trombonist to James Brown, in the track Bill and the Sweet Fairy. With "Things Change" Funk Off starts a new chapter yet maintains that dynamic, intense energy evident in their live shows. As in their previous works, the notes, the groove, the chemistry and empathy all build up in a unique emotional experience, leading to a collection of musical ideas and creating something wholly unique among these fifteen musicians led by Dario Cecchini. There are a number of references that drift listeners into the roots of soul: Inner City Soul inspired by Marvin Gaye’s Inner City Blues and Bill & the Sweet Fairy, dedicated to Bill Withers. The album also includes compositions with linear song structures such as Soulmates and Groovy Day. Talking Pictures, is a song deeply reminiscent of a ballad/beguine, markedly differing from Funk Off’s style. Yin and Yang is a flute-centred track, traditionally present in each of their albums, while To Bits and The Certain Doubt have the harder edge of the band’s sound. The title track Things Change, is the song that seems to summarize this album - with a swaggering, relaxed, cheerful groove but also more introspective than the other tracks. A Breath of Fresh Air, which closes the album, is an upbeat swinging march inspired by the New Orleans marching band, acknowledging the band’s debt to that tradition.



Tracklist of "Things Change": 13 Tracks

01 Things Change

02 Bill & the Sweet Fairy feat. Fred Wesley

03 Dance with Me feat. Avery*Sunshine

04 Groovy Day

05 Inner City Soul

06 Deja Vu feat. Raul Midón

07 Talking Pictures

08 The Certain Doubt

09 Yin & Yang

10 To Bits

11 Soulmates

12 A Breath of Fresh Air

13 Dance with Me (Remix)

share this item
facebook googleplus linkedin rss twitter youtube
Articoli correlati (da tag)